News from the School of Journalism and Communication

Find out what SOJC students, faculty, and alumni are up to on campus, on the national stage, and beyond.

Media and women's rights activist Emrakeb Woldearegay shares her journey traveling from Ethiopia to Eugene with her family to pursue her dream of earning a doctorate in communication and media studies.
The Oregon chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists has named KLCC’s Nathan Wilk its 2024 Rookie of the Year. Wilk ’23 was part of the Snowden Internship Program before joining KLCC in 2023.
Madilyne Acosta-Nguyen ’21 is  profiled in the UO Alumni Association's May Shout Feature story for ADPI Heritage Month. She works for Sony as a senior diversity, equity and inclusion specialist.
SOJC Professor Bish Sen weighed in on the role of reality TV in society in an article published on the OPB news site. Reality shows aren’t trash TV or guilty pleasures, he said. They mirror real life.
The advisors at the SOJC Undergraduate Student Success Center help students make the connection between short-term decisions, like choosing classes, and long-term goals, like finding the right career.
Lookout Santa Cruz, a digital-only news site started by Ken Doctor '79, won a Pulitzer Prize for its coverage of flooding in California. Doctor is a member of the SOJC Hall of Achievement.
Advertising major Annie Neal '25 and journalism major Johnny Media '24 are honored for exploring passions an embracing challenges as they thrive in their UO experience.
While it’s healthy to question what we see and hear in the media, internet searches to fact-check news stories can backfire and lead people to believe false stories, says an SOJC professor.
The popular app Twitch, created to livestream video game action, is redefining journalism as it becomes a source for news, according to Maxwell Foxman, an SOJC media and game studies professor. 
SOJC Distinguished Professor of Advertising Deb Morrison will become the first public university professor inducted into the One Club for Creativity Educators Hall of Fame.