Journalism Advancement Council

Technology is changing fast, and it’s driving massive shifts in the fields of journalism and communication. The SOJC's Journalism Advancement Council helps us stay relevant. It keeps us on the leading edge. It tells us what real-world skills our students need to cultivate. These experts in the field are instrumental in ensuring the SOJC lives up to its reputation for excellence.


Anne Marie Levis MBA 96
President, Funk/Levis & Associates


Jon Anderson
President & Publisher (Retired), Random Lengths Publications

Scott Bedbury ’80
Founder and CEO, Brandstream, Inc.

Cameron Blanchard ’91
SVP of Communications, Charter Communications

Barbara Blangiardi ’79
Senior Vice President, Strategies and Creative Partnerships, FOX Sports

Therese Bottomly ’83
Editor and Vice President of Content, The Oregonian

Julie Dixon
Co-Founder/Advertising (Retired), Sports Incorporated

Tonya Dressel '88
University of Oregon Foundation Board member

Michele Matassa Flores ‘85
Executive Editor, The Seattle Times

Jason George ’01
Screenwriter, Producer, Journalist

Shirley Hancock, BS ’80
Director and Trainer, GratiaPR
Contributing Writer, 1859 Oregon’s Magazine
Former anchor and reporter, KOIN-TV

Rick Jacobs
Executive News Director (Retired)

Brock Kirby '08
Freelance Copywriter

Ryan Knutson '09
SVP, Media Partnerships - Dow Jones

Jim Pensiero ’75
Deputy Managing Editor (Retired), The Wall Street Journal

Mark Pilkenton ’79
President, StoryMark

Neal Rosen ‘74
Owner Rosen Communications (retired)

Scott Reames ’89
Content Director and Historian, Nike
NIKE Heritage & Culture (Retired)

Neal Rosen ’74
Owner, Rosen Communications

Anna Sanford ‘06
Sr. Director, Global Strategy and Operations, Global Government Engagement, Visa Inc.

Paul Suchman
Chief Marketing Officer
Entercom Communications Corp.

Betty Staniak ’80
Writer/Brand Strategist (freelance)
Senior Writer/Producer (Retired)
State Farm Creative

Jane Wildman '83 
Past President & Board of Directors Member (current)
Combe, Inc.

Tracy Wong ’81
Chairman, Creative Director, WONGDOODY