About the School of Journalism & Communication

Share This...

Our students benefit from a solid liberal arts education, an undergraduate program and majors designed to serve their interests and their goals, and a comprehensive journalism core that emphasizes the power of storytelling.

Our faculty comprises bestselling authors, award-winning journalists and communicators, and noted scholars who’ve joined forces to serve our students by creating programs that are relevant, thorough, and exciting.

Our relationships with industry professionals and our alumni result in more than 300 different visitors to our classes per year—as well as access to internships  and other networking opportunities. Student organizations help foster these networks while you’re still in school.

Twelve of the UO’s 13 Pulitzer Prize winners have their roots here. Our Hall of Achievement showcases more than fifty alumni and former faculty who have reached the highest levels of career achievement. The School itself has a long and colorful history.

Our George S Turnbull Portland Center is our home in the state’s media center and a vibrant entity where communication professionals explore and discuss emerging issues. International Programs and partnerships help expand our students’ horizons.

By combining professional practice with a broad-based liberal arts education and emphasizing ethics, social responsibility, and the public interest, we prepare our students to be leaders in journalism and communication.

Want to know more?  Click HERE to find out whom to contact.


Pulitzer Prize Winners with roots in the SOJC

Byron Acohido '77 (1997)
Rick Attig '83 (2006)
Doug Bates '68 (2006)
Michael Ciaglo '12 (2014)
Steve Dykes '82 (1993, 1995, 2000)
Ted Natt (1981)
J. Michael Richmond '63
Nora Simon '11 (2014)
Karen Stallwood '86 (1994)
Alex Tizon – assistant professor (1997)
Héctor Tobar - visiting assistant professor (1992)
Brent Walth '84 (2001)
Mark Zusman '78 (2005)