The purpose of the Journalism Advancement Council (JAC) is to support the mission and goals of the School of Journalism and Communication (SOJC). The council provides advice, advocacy and financial support for the SOJC. JAC members are selected for their professional expertise and ability to promote and personally participate in the ongoing improvement of the School.


Betty Staniak, BS ’80
Senior Writer & Producer, State Farm Creative


Jon Anderson
President & Publisher, Random Length Publications

Steve Bass
President & CEO, Oregon Public Broadcasting

Scott Bedbury, BS ’80
Founder & CEO, Brandstream, Inc.

Cameron Blanchard, BA ’91
Chief Communications Officer, Condé Nast

Barbara Blangiardi, BS ’79
SVP Strategies & Creative Partnerships, Fox Sports

Therese Bottomly, BA ’83
Managing Editor, The Oregonian

John Costa
Publisher, The Bulletin
President, Western Communications

Julie Dixon
Co-Founder/Advertising (retired), Sports Incorporated

Shirley Hancock, BS ’80
Director & Trainer, GratiaPR
Contributing Writer, 1859 Magazine
Former anchor & reporter, KOIN-TV

Anne Marie Levis, MBA ’96
President, Funk/Levis & Associates

Steve O’Leary, BS ’69
Vice Chairman, The Shipyard

Jim Pensiero, BA ’75
Deputy Managing Editor (retired), The Wall Street Journal

Mark Pilkenton, BS ’79
President, StoryMark

Scott Reames, BA ’89
Content Director & Historian, NIKE

Neal Rosen, BS ’74
Owner, Rosen Communications

Gayle Timmerman, BA ’69
Classified Advertising Manager (retired), The Oregonian

Tracy Wong, BA ’81
Chairman, Creative Director, WONGDOODY

Mark Zusman, MA ’78
Editor & Publisher, Willamette Week