Participating media ethicists


Name: Tom Bivins, John L. Hulteng Chair in Media Ethics, School of Journalism and Communication, University of Orego

Areas of Expertise:

  • Ethics of persuasion (public relations, advertising, political communication)
  • News-journalism
  • Entertainment media

Contact Information:
Email: tbivins@ballmer.uoregon.edu
Phone: 541-346-3740


Sandra L. Borden, Associate Professor of Communication and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Ethics in Society, Western Michigan University

Areas of expertise:

  •    The commodification of journalism.
  •     How journalists talk about ethics.
  •     Professionalism in journalism.
  •     Case-based decision making (casuistry)

Contact Information:
Email: sandra.borden@wmich.edu
Phone: 269-387-3146; Fax: 269-387-3990


Name: Jan Leach, Assistant Professor and Director of the Media Law Center for Ethics and Access, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Kent State University

Areas of Expertise:

  • Media Ethics
  • ethics training for undergraduate, graduate students and media professionals
  • Copy Editing

Contact Information:
Email: jleach1@kent.edu
Phone: 330.672.4289


Name: Julianne H. Newton, Professor of Visual Communication, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, School of Journalism and Communication, University of Oregon

Areas of Expertise:

  • Visual Ethics
  • Photojournalism
  • Visual Communication Theory
  • Research Methods

Contact Information:
Email: jhnewton@oregon.uoregon.edu
Phone: 541.346.2167


Name: Patrick Lee Plaisance, Assistant professor, Department of Journalism & Technical Communication, Colorado State University

Areas of Expertise:

  • Newsroom socialization
  • Journalistic values and decision-making
  • Propaganda theory
  • Communitarian social theory as it relates to media roles.

Contact Information:
Email:
patrick.plaisance@colostate.edu


Name: Bill Reader, associate professor, E.W. Scripps School of Journalism, Ohio University

Areas of Expertise:

  • Audience feedback and opinion sections
  • Community and small-market journalism
  • Editorial page ethics
  • Newsroom management ethics.

Contact Information:
Email: reader@ohio.edu
Phone: (740) 597-1294


Name: Erik Ugland, Assistant Professor, College of Communication, Marquette University

Contact Information:
Email: erik.ugland@mu.edu
Phone: 414.288.3494


Name: Sephen J.A. Ward, James E. Burgess Professor of Journalism Ethics, Director, Center for Journalism Ethics, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Areas of Expertise:

  • Journalism ethics (espeically global)
  • History of journalism ethics
  • Objectivity
  • Codes of ethics

Contact Information:
Email: sjward2@wisc.edu
Phone: (604) 822-8747


Name: Wendy Wyatt, Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication University of St. Thomas

Areas of Expertise:

  • media ethics
  • media and democracy
  • media literacy

Contact Information:
Email: wnbarger@stthomas.edu
Phone: 651-962-5253