UO SOJC Announces 2013 Hall of Achievement Inductees

The UO School of Journalism and Communication has announced its 2013 additions to their Hall of Achievement (HOA). The 2013 inductees are Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Conner, Madeline DeFrees, and Mark Zusman.

Established in 1998, the Hall of Achievement honors alumni and faculty members of the School of Journalism and Communication for their outstanding accomplishments and exceptional contributions to the field of journalism and the communities in which they live and work

The three new additions to the HOA will be officially inducted at the 16th Annual Hall of Achievement Dinner on November 1, at the Cheryl Ramberg Ford and Allyn Ford Alumni Center on the University of Oregon campus.

A member of the SOJC class of ’77, Roberta Conner is the director of Tamástslikt (Tah-mahst-slickt) Cultural Institute, the 45,000 square foot museum is the only tribally-owned interpretive center on the entire National Historic Oregon Trail. In 2012, she was named Chair of the Board of Trustees at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian. She has applied her skills to the service of others, especially within the Native American community and has received numerous accolades for her work.

Madeline DeFrees earned a M.A. in journalism from the University of Oregon in 1951. A well-known author and poet, DeFrees has written two chapbooks, two nonfiction books, and eight poetry collections including Blue Dusk, which earned her the 2002 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and a Washington Book Award.

Mark Zusman, who earned an M.A. in journalism in 1978, is editor and co-owner of Willamette Week, which in 2005 became the first and only weekly newspaper to win the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting. He and business partner Richard Meeker also own two other alternative weeklies and co-founded the nation’s third largest indoor music festival MusicfestNW, which was named one of the “50 Authentic American Experiences of 2009” by Time Magazine.

“This year’s Hall of Achievement inductees are truly exceptional, and as with all of our inductees, set an example for our students.” said Edwin L. Artz Dean Tim Gleason. “We welcome the opportunity to recognize their outstanding achievements.”

Advance ticket purchase is required: $130/person or sponsor a table for $1,000. A portion of each ticket supports the Hall of Achievement Student Scholarship Fund. Deadline to RSVP is October 25, 2013

Contact: Erika Vogt, 541-346-2494 or evogt@uoregon.edu to RSVP or for more information