Hearst AwardThe UO School of Journalism and Communication (SOJC) made quite an impact at this year’s William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. Four individual SOJC students and one team walked away with scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 as well as bragging rights for their outstanding work.

The Hearst Journalism Awards, which were founded in 1960 to provide support and inspiration to the U.S. collegiate journalism community, give away a total of up to $500,000 each year to students whose work exhibits exceptional performance in various categories, including two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions. Each competition looks for the nation’s most outstanding student work.

Kyle Hentschel, who took top honors in the Multimedia — Enterprise Reporting category for his video “Rise Again,” said his work was a collaboration with his fellow SOJC students, Sutton Raphael and José Contreras. Their video, which they shot on location in Nepal, tells the story of the resilience of the Nepalese people who endured the nation’s 2015 earthquake. “We found that the best thing we could bring back and convey was the power of the human condition and its capacity for selflessness in a time of disaster,” he said. “We wanted to evoke a social question: Would you help your neighbors? What’s your first thought when the earth starts shaking?”

The SOJC 2015-16 Hearst Journalism Award winners are:

Multimedia — Enterprise Reporting:

Team Reporting:

First place, Melanie Burke, BA ’15, Emma Pindell, Kyra Bailey, Will Saunders, Hayla Beck, Evan Norton, Paige De Paepe, Miro Merrill, Taylor Richmond, Spencer Orofino, Ben McBee, Lili Bayarmagnai,BA ’15, Julia Reihs,BA ’15, Sierra Morgan, and Andy Abeyta, BA ’15, for “Science & Memory”


Fifth place, Hannah Golden for “Suffering In Secret: One Man’s Struggle With An Eating Disorder


Fifth place, Justin Wise for “Fandom, Company, and Conversation”

The SOJC also placed fifth overall in the Hearst Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition, which is based on student points in three of the four media competitions, and sixth in the Hearst Intercollegiate Writing Competition, based on student points in four of the five writing competitions.

Congratulations to the SOJC’s Hearst Journalism Award recipients!

Story by Nikki Kesaris ’18