The University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication (SOJC) recognized top students at the 2015 Student Awards Ceremony held on Sunday, June 14.

Congratulations to all of our award winners.

Honors Program

The second cohort of SOJC Honors students were recognized and awarded honors cords to wear at commencement. Honors students take several classes in a writing- and discussion-based format with a cohort of peers from all of the areas in the SOJC. Honors students also complete a thesis, investigating an area of media inquiry of their choice. The 2015 SOJC Honors students are:

Tyler Barrett, ZolbooBayarmagnai, Tashia Davis, Shelby Dunlap, Gianna Graziano, Aimee Gregg, Andrea Kilcoyne, Alexa Korkos, Casey Minter, Bridget O’Donnell-Davidson, Hannah Osborn, Kelly Rodgers, Meredith St. Clair, Brianna Huber, and Olivia Bartruff.

Kappa Tau Alpha

Kappa Tau Alpha is a college honor society that recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in journalism and mass communication. Each year, the SOJC offers membership to the top ten percent of the graduating class. The 29 new members of Kappa Tau Alpha are:

Doctor of Philosophy: Ryan S. Eanes

Master of Arts: Melissa De Lyser, Maria Gracia Roxas Morrissey, and Lindsey Newkirk

Bachelor of Journalism: Olivia Bartruff, Ainsley Blandford, Jordyn Brown, Delanie Clark, Pamela Cressall, Tashia Davis, Shelby Joy Dunlap, Kaitlin Ellis, Savannah Fox, Hannah Golden, Erica Hawley, Alexa Korkos, Hayley K. Lane, Shaina Lumish, Sinead Nelson, Jocelyn K. Parker, Andrew Rogers, Catherina Savattere, Breanne Schnell, Karlee Smethers, Jesse Summers, Lindsey Marie Swift, Linh P. Tran, Shannon Lyn Turner, and Tommy Woods.

Phi Beta Kappa

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the oldest honor society for the liberal arts and sciences and is widely considered to be the nation’s most prestigious honor society. Phi Beta Kappa aims to promote and advocate excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and to induct the most outstanding students of arts and sciences at American colleges and universities.

This year, the University of Oregon chapter selected five SOJC students to be inducted.

Tyler Barrett, Communication Studies/Anthropology double major, Environmental Studies minor
Amanda Butt, Journalism/French double major
Raven McClendon, Communication Studies major, Anthropology minor
Benjamin Stone, Russian & Eastern European Studies/Journalism double major
Jana Rabea Stueckemann, Journalism/Advertising double major

Latin Honors

Latin honors were by earned by 22 students.

Cum Laude—students with a GPA of 3.77–3.88
Tyler Barrett, Kathryn Boyd-Batstone, Alexandra Fleming, Devon Frazer, Aimee Gregg, David Hamernick, Katharine MacLean, Raven McClendon, Kelly Ann Miller, Sarah Sharp, Benjamin Stone

Magna Cum Laude—students with a GPA of 3.89–3.99
Kelcie Goetsch, Madison Hare, Alexa Korkos, Grant Lemons, Julia Reihs, Shani Skeete, Meredith St. Clair

Summa Cu Laude—students with a GPA of 4.00 or higher
Jasper Brezsny-Feldman, Veronika Hanson, Bridget O’Donnell-Davidson, Hannah Sedlak

SOJC Commencement Standard Bearer

The SOJC Standard Bearer leads the processional during the SOJC Commencement Ceremony and also carries the standard during the annual Duck Walk and through the University of Oregon Commencement Ceremony.

The standard bearer is “a student who has consistently demonstrated their creativity and, during the course of their studies, gained expertise, maturity and confidence, virtually guaranteeing a very bright future in their chosen field.”

The 2015 Standard Bearer is Carlyle Garrick. Garrick majored in advertising and is a writer, a producer and a strategist. He has been a magnet for people and projects in Allen Hall. He served as a counselor to other students, a consultant to many projects, and was the idea man that people turn to.

School of Journalism and Communication awards

The Phyllis Van Kimmell Bell Leadership Award — Casey Minter

William Gurney Memorial Award for Outstanding Senior Man — Grant Lemons

Janice E. Rianda Award for Outstanding Senior Woman — Veronika Hanson

Advertising area awards

Willis Winter Award for Outstanding Scholastic and Professional Service in the Field of Advertising — Shelby Joy Dunlap

Roy Paul Nelson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Advertising Design — Brandon Trung Mai

W.L. Thompson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Advertising Copywriting — Sarah Marie Sharp

Maxwell Award — Danielle Nicole Holley

Journalism area awards

Academic Excellence — Grant Lemons

Leadership — Zolboo Bayarmagnai and Julia V. Reihs

Outstanding Journalism — Amanda Butt

Public Relations area awards

Liz Cawood Public Service Award — Abigaelle Mulligan

Jack Ewan Award for Outstanding Public Relations Graduate — Hallie White

Public Relations Duck Award — Kayla Gordon