The Columbia Scholastic Press Association recognized the SOJC’s Flux Magazine staff with 16 Gold Circle Awards — seven of them first-place finishes — for work in writing, photography, and design for work published between June 16, 2013 through June 10, 2014.

Gold Circle Awards are awarded for superior work by student journalists, usually to individuals but sometimes to an entire staff working with either print or online media.

“This is more indication that the University of Oregon is putting out great journalism that is recognized on a national level,” Flux Advisor Lisa Heyamoto said. “This is a reflection of all of the hard work students do and how hard they’re are working to produce good work.”

First-place winners include Casey Minter for nonfiction interview; Alisha Jucevic for photo and photography portfolio; Lisa Donato and Mackenzie Weherli for single spread design: and Mackenzie Henshaw for multi-page design and design portfolio. As a team, Flux also won first-place for overall design.

Judges for the 31st Gold Circle Award program reviewed 11,407 entries produced by students at colleges, universities and secondary schools around the United States.

This year Flux celebrates its 22nd year as an award-winning student-run publication. The magazine continues to be a national leader on the student-media scene.

Complete list of award winners:

1st place, nonfiction interview: Casey Minter
2nd place, nonfiction article: Wyatt Stayner
Certificate of merit, nonfiction interview: Wyatt Stayner

1st place, photo: Alisha Jucevic
1st place, photography portfolio: Alisha Jucevic
2nd place, photo: Kathryn Boyd-Batstone
Certificate of merit, photo: Elora Overbey
Certificate of merit, photography portfolio: Elora Overbey

1st place, overall design: Flux Magazine staff
1st place, design portfolio: Mackenzie Henshaw
1st place, multi-page design: Mackenzie Henshaw
1st place, single spread design: Lisa Donato and Mackenzie Wehrli
2nd place, multi-page design: Lisa Donato
2nd place, cover design: Charlotte Dupont and Julia Letarte
2nd place, use of typography: Charlotte Dupont and Julia Letarte
3rd place, headline design: Lisa Donato

Written by Jessica Glackin ’15