Ethos magazine logoThe University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication (SOJC) had seven students and one publication recognized at the recently announced Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) Awards.

The Associated Collegiate Press awards are presented annually to recognize excellence in student journalism. The awards are considered to be the highest national honors in collegiate journalism, and are seen as the collegiate equivalent of a Pulitzer Prize.

All individuals who were nominated from the SOJC received awards. Flux and Ethos were both finalists for the Magazine Pacemaker Award, and Ethos took home the prize for the second year in a row.

Ethos has done a remarkable job as a student-run independent publication, and the Pacemaker award, essentially the top award for student magazines, is an acknowledgement of that hard work,” explains Mark Blaine, SOJC senior instructor and journalism area director, and advisor for Ethos. “The staff should be proud of its accomplishments and as most of the Ethos students are also SOJC students, their dedication helps lead the way for many students in the SOJC community.”

Complete list of award winners:

2014 ACP Magazine Pacemaker
Feature Magazine: Ethos

2014 ACP Photo Excellence Award
First Place, General News Picture: Michael Shaw, Emerald Media

2014 ACP Design of the Year Award
Third Place, Newspaper Page One: Jake Crump, Ryan Kang, Emerald Media
Fourth Place, Yearbook/Magazine Page/Spread: Lisa Donato, Flux

2014 ACP Advertising Award
First Place, Display Ad: Alberto Chapa, Flux

2014 ACP Multimedia Story of the Year Award
Honorable Mention, Multimedia Feature: Kathryn Boyd-Batstone, Flux

2014 ACP Story of the Year
First Place, Feature Story: Wyatt Stayner, Flux
Fifth Place, Editorial/Opinion: Emerald Editorial Board, Emerald Media