Ann Sullivan ’42, who paved the way for women in journalism as a reporter at The Oregonian; and Steve O’Leary ’69, president of O’Leary and Partners Advertising and a noted author and speaker about word-of-mouth advertising, were inducted into the School of Journalism and Communication’s Hall of Achievement at an awards ceremony on November 13 at the Eugene Country Club. Glenn Cole ’92, co-founder of 72andSunny, received the Inaugural Eric Allen Award at the event.

Sullivan, the only woman on the The Oregonian’s city desk during World War II, was known as a star reporter who could tackle any story and is perhaps best known in

Oregon for her efforts in bringing the 1968 Oregon Penitentiary Riot to a peaceful close. For this, she was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize.

O’Leary began his career at J.Walter Thompson in New York in 1969. One of his pivotal experiences, he says, was working for the November Group as an account executive for the Committee to Re-Elect the President in 1972. Today, O’Leary is chairman of O’Leary and Partners, an advertising firm In the Los Angeles area.

1992 UO graduate Glenn Cole received the inaugural Eric Allen Award for outstanding alumni under 40. Cole co-founded 72andSunny, a design and advertising company, after working as creative director at the advertising agency Wieden+Kennedy in Amsterdam. 72andSunny is noted for innovative campaigns for clients such as Nike, Quicksilver, and the Discovery Channel. The agency also has curated Microsoft’s Zune Arts Program. The award is named for Eric Allen, the first dean of the UO School of Journalism.

The Hall of Achievement—the school’s signature event—started in 1998 when members of the school’s Journalism Advancement Council wanted to celebrate the history of the school and connect students with that history and with that history and with alumni and former faculty. The Register-Guard has been the major sponsor of this program since its inception.

In 2001, The Hall of Achievement was expanded to include The Hall of Achievement Student Fund . The program includes individual scholarship funds established to honor members of the Hall of Achievement as well as a general Hall of Achievement Student Fund. In the 2009-10 school year, the SOJC will award nearly $400,000 to deserving students.

Members of the Hall of Achievement include former Oregon Governor Tom McCall; Tim Boyle, president and chief executive officer of Columbia Sportswear; and Ann Curry, NBC news anchor and correspondent.