On Wednesday, June 4, the SOJC hosted its fourth annual Scholarship Award Celebration to honor students who received scholarships for the 2014-15 school year.

Scholarship recipients filled the carnival themed atrium of Allen Hall, equipped with colorful balloons and carnival themed treats. To add excitement, students were not told which scholarship they had won until they arrived at the event. When they got there, the students wrote thank you letters to their donors to express gratitude.

Juniors Sami Edge and Amanda Butt went home with three awards each. Edge was awarded the Civil Watchdog Journalism Scholarship, The Alan and Gail Maltun New/Editorial Scholarship and the John L. and Elizabeth Hulteng Scholarship.

“I am an out-of-state student,” explained Edge. “Having the opportunity to get financial assistance for doing the work I love is really the only way I am able to keep pursuing my passions.”

Butt received The Chambers Scholarship in Electronic Media, the Hall of Achievement Scholarship and The Ann Curry Electronic Media Scholarship.

“Ann Curry was one of the reasons I came to this school, she’s my idol,” Butt explained. “Without her even knowing, she has done so much for me.”

– Jessica Glackin, ’15 Public Relations